Dukascopy Support Board
http://www.dukascopy.com/swiss/english/forex/jforex/forum/

JFOREX-1651 NPE connect.PlatformOrderImpl.m
http://www.dukascopy.com/swiss/english/forex/jforex/forum/viewtopic.php?f=85&t=4234
Page 1 of 1

Author:  [jpataylor] [ Wed 24 Mar, 2010, 00:13 ]
Post subject:  JFOREX-1651 NPE connect.PlatformOrderImpl.m

I'm getting the following error from time to time in my strategy which causes the strategy to stop:

java.lang.NullPointerException @ com.dukascopy.api.impl.connect.PlatformOrderImpl.m(Unknown Source)

There are no other error messages. Could somebody point me in the right direction to start debugging this? Because of the lack of any other message I'm not even sure what the strategy is actually doing at the instant the error occurs! The only thing I have noticed is that it only happens when I run 2 strategies at the same time (although the one which stops doesn't even place any orders or make any trades).

Thanks in advance for any ideas,

J

Author:  API Support [ Wed 24 Mar, 2010, 18:29 ]
Post subject:  Re: com.dukascopy.api.impl.connect.PlatformOrderImpl.m

Hello,
please provide us with a full stuck trace and the platform version.

Author:  [jpataylor] [ Wed 24 Mar, 2010, 20:51 ]
Post subject:  Re: com.dukascopy.api.impl.connect.PlatformOrderImpl.m

Dukascopy version: 2.2.6
JForex API Version: 2.2.0

Unfortunately that's the only message I get! I appreciate this is probably not one that any of you guys can solve but I push in the right direction might enable me to solve it.

Thanks

Author:  API Support [ Thu 25 Mar, 2010, 09:10 ]
Post subject:  Re: com.dukascopy.api.impl.connect.PlatformOrderImpl.m

Thanks for your attention. We will investigate this.

Author:  [gillette] [ Fri 16 Apr, 2010, 11:12 ]
Post subject:  strategy opens different position's size than it should

[DEMO PLATFORM]

Hi when I try to open some position by the market order, Server will open different position size sometime.

example:

1. Strategy creates an order (JPY at xy with size 0.1Mio)
2. Server gives me something like: [Order FILLED at xy JPY 0.1Mio]

all seems to be ok, but when I switch to a position tab, I will got:
Instrument USD/JPY.. amount 0.25Mio

So any suggestions? Is it about a fact that I'm testing it on a demo platform?

Many thanks for any ideas

Author:  API Support [ Mon 19 Apr, 2010, 11:03 ]
Post subject:  Re: strategy opens different position's size than it should

Hi,
Quote:
Is it about a fact that I'm testing it on a demo platform?
No.

What do you mean by saying
Quote:
Server will open different position size sometime

Please, consider added strategy. Do you still have this problem?

Attachments:
TestOrderSubmit.java [995 Bytes]
Downloaded 485 times

Author:  [gillette] [ Tue 20 Apr, 2010, 10:34 ]
Post subject:  Re: strategy opens different position's size than it should

Quote:
What do you mean by saying


I mean that sometime I've got correct position size and sometime haven't. Please see attached picture.. You can see there that server FILLED an order 7602654 with amount of 0.22Mio, but when I ask that concrete order command(7602654) for ammount, It will return 0.44Mio(doubled size)

Maybe it is my fault, but I really don't know where

and the second question related to the first one.. my strategy also from time to time shows this exception

java.lang.nullpointerException@com.dukascopy.transport.common.msg.group.c.xG(unknown servise)


and after that the platform will close it

Attachments:
cablelong.jpg [102.09 KiB]
Downloaded 604 times

Author:  [gillette] [ Tue 20 Apr, 2010, 13:33 ]
Post subject:  Re: strategy opens different position's size than it should

[DEMO PLATFORM]
well I have to say that it definitely IS about a server bug, because when I get that behaviour(wrong position size) and then restart the platform, so all positions will have correct sizes...

e.g.

1. strategy opens BUY EU 0.2Mio
2. server shows FILLED EU 0.2Mio
3. position's Tab and IOrder::GetAmount() shows 0.4Mio
4. NOW DO RESTART THE PLATFORM
5. position's tab gets position size of 0.2Mio.. which is correct

Author:  API Support [ Tue 20 Apr, 2010, 14:07 ]
Post subject:  Re: strategy opens different position's size than it should

It looks like it's related to your posted exception
Quote:
java.lang.nullpointerException@com.dukascopy.transport.common.msg.group.c.xG(unknown servise)

Could you please post here a full stacktrace? And if you can figure out some pattern how to get this exception, that would help us a lot.

Author:  [gillette] [ Wed 21 Apr, 2010, 13:27 ]
Post subject:  Re: strategy opens different position's size than it should

Quote:
Could you please post here a full stacktrace? And if you can figure out some pattern how to get this exception, that would help us a lot.


another one has been appeared:

java.lang.NullPointerException @ com.dukascopy.api.impl.connect.PlatformOrderImpl.m(Unknown Source)


unfortunatelly there is no additional callstack. Shall I have to enabled something in JForex settings to allow full stack trace reporting?

Author:  API Support [ Fri 30 Apr, 2010, 19:04 ]
Post subject:  Re: JFOREX-1651: NPE connect.PlatformOrderImpl.m

Unfortunately we cannot repeat the following bug. Could you please provide more information?
What kind of the strategy do you use?

  Page 1 of 1