Dukascopy
 
 
Wiki JStore Search Login

Manual backtesting with multiple timeframes
 Post subject: Manual backtesting with multiple timeframes Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Fri 13 Jul, 2012, 14:58 
User avatar

User rating: 1
Joined: Fri 08 Jun, 2012, 12:15
Posts: 14
Location: Russian FederationRussian Federation
Hi,

it would be nice to have an option, to be able to test manually (without chosing strategy) a chosen instrument(s) on multiple timeframes (1m, 15m, 1h, 4h, etc).

Its like having open charts of say eurusd 1m, 15m, 1h and 4h, and being able to backtest manually by hitting preset key, candle by candle (to simulate real account trade with multiple charts, with multiple timeframes), being able also to by or sell (also manually), posting pending orders... Being able to do everything you can do on a real trading account, but in backtesting mode!

That would be awesome!


 
 Post subject: Re: Manual backtesting with multiple timeframes Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Fri 13 Jul, 2012, 15:12 
User avatar

User rating:
Joined: Fri 31 Aug, 2007, 09:17
Posts: 6078
See:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=28785&start=0


 
 Post subject: Re: Manual backtesting with multiple timeframes Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Fri 16 Aug, 2013, 19:58 

User rating: 0
Joined: Sun 07 Oct, 2012, 10:33
Posts: 5
The link no longer works on this reply. Can it be found somewhere else?


 
 Post subject: Re: Manual backtesting with multiple timeframes Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Fri 16 Aug, 2013, 22:29 
User avatar

User rating: 94
Joined: Mon 06 Feb, 2012, 12:22
Posts: 356
Location: Portugal, Castelo Branco
Hi dns_di:

Just clone the Historical Tester Chart and adjust for the time frame you want... You can clone charts the number you want and adjust the time frame on each one of them.

I hope that helps

JL


 
 Post subject: Re: Manual backtesting with multiple timeframes Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Sat 17 Aug, 2013, 16:49 
User avatar

User rating: 94
Joined: Mon 06 Feb, 2012, 12:22
Posts: 356
Location: Portugal, Castelo Branco
Hi:

I forget to say i created a strategy to allow manual trading on Historical Tester... You can get it here...
It's the "myOfflineTrades" strategy.

Trade well

JL


 
 Post subject: Re: Manual backtesting with multiple timeframes Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Tue 15 Mar, 2016, 20:18 
User avatar

User rating: 0
Joined: Wed 09 Dec, 2015, 12:47
Posts: 2
Location: BulgariaBulgaria
jlongo wrote:
Hi dns_di:

Just clone the Historical Tester Chart and adjust for the time frame you want... You can clone charts the number you want and adjust the time frame on each one of them.

I hope that helps

JL



Is this possible with latest api?


 
 Post subject: Re: Manual backtesting with multiple timeframes Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Mon 21 Mar, 2016, 12:21 
User avatar

User rating: 0
Joined: Wed 09 Dec, 2015, 12:47
Posts: 2
Location: BulgariaBulgaria
Can I bump up this question in the most humble manner?


 

Jump to:  

cron
  © 1998-2011 Dukascopy® Bank SA
On-line Currency forex trading with Swiss Forex Broker - ECN Forex Brokerage,
Managed Forex Accounts, introducing forex brokers, Currency Forex Data Feed and News
Currency Forex Trading Platform provided on-line by Dukascopy.com