Dukascopy Support Board
http://www.dukascopy.com/swiss/english/forex/jforex/forum/

Full offline developing - is it possible?
http://www.dukascopy.com/swiss/english/forex/jforex/forum/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=40658
Page 1 of 1

Author:  ForexTools [ Mon 25 Jul, 2011, 12:44 ]
Post subject:  Full offline developing - is it possible?

My corporate proxy blocked all ports which is needed for jForex normal work (443, 10443, etc).
Whether there is any way to work with jForex completely offline?
For example: on a PC with full internet access I download quotes history files, than transfer them (via flashdrive) to another PC (without Internet access) and work on it completely locally.
This is required not for trade, but for learning jForexAPI and developming of indicators and experts for the platform jForex on PC without Internet connection.

Author:  Platform Support [ Tue 26 Jul, 2011, 08:29 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

For developing JForex API based on the standalone library (in Eclipse, for example), you do not need an internet connection.
http://www.dukascopy.com/wiki/index.php?title=Use_in_Eclipse

A next JForex generation will have possibility for using the platform even without internet (for trading simulations).

Author:  ForexTools [ Tue 26 Jul, 2011, 08:39 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

Of course I can use Eclipse or Netbeans to write and debug source code.
But the question is how can I see the result in jForex main window if he can not even connect to the server?

Author:  Platform Support [ Wed 27 Jul, 2011, 16:46 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

It is not possible to use the Jforex offline currently.

Author:  Guest [ Thu 28 Jul, 2011, 08:09 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

Desktop Support wrote:
A next JForex generation will have possibility for using the platform even without internet (for trading simulations).

when can we expect its release?

Author:  MoneyMechanics [ Sun 31 Jul, 2011, 05:41 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

I'd very much like to see a release like this too, it would be a great functionality to have!

thanks in any case,
mm

Author:  SFXbernhard [ Mon 01 Aug, 2011, 10:58 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

I need the offline connection urgently too.
Backtesting is 99,9% impossible currently without an Internet connection.
Therefore my optimizing halts while I am working in the plane, e.g. during 10 h to USA what is a pity.

Bernhard

Author:  ForexTools [ Tue 02 Aug, 2011, 11:54 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

May be you can develop your own separate local "trading" server, that does nothing, except returning to the terminal dummy "handshake." no checks and passwords! Terminal starting, connecting to this local server and operate with it as with commercial server. In this case, we run this local server that intercepts all calls from the terminal to real servers and process them itself but returns nothing data (except some "signals" that the server is alive). In this case, the developer will receive full access to the terminal to work in "offline mode". We work offline but terminal think that it is online :)

Is this a sollution of a problem? Can you develop such "patch"?

Author:  Platform Support [ Wed 03 Aug, 2011, 16:40 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

This feature is under developement.

Author:  ForexTools [ Wed 10 Aug, 2011, 08:43 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

Yesterday my demo account was expired, and I received situation, which I really needed: after unsuccessfully login, jForex was offline but all environment was fully functional!!!

Maybe you can "emulate" this situation for offline developing purposes?

:idea: If login is unsuccessful (not only because of expired demo account, but on ANY OTHER REASON) you "transfer" platform in this "locked", but "working in offline" state :idea:

Author:  SFXbernhard [ Fri 23 Sep, 2011, 12:02 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

In your mentioned state you cannot compile strategies at all, so it is useless. Sorry. Support has to provide us with another version, with which we can develop and test strategies offline.
MT4 can do this, why can't JForex?

Author:  SFXbernhard [ Wed 26 Jun, 2013, 14:14 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

This task here has 2157 views already, it must be relevant!!!

Good old MT4 still works offline. I can compile and run EA robots easily.

Dukascopy - if you really want to be better than MT4, please implement the offline mode for strategy compiling and backtesting at least.
This is important in my many offline travel times such in planes and trains. :x

Author:  gaku [ Tue 03 Feb, 2015, 09:09 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

I'm new to this platform and at the moment surfing this forum I've found any solution on that.

I completely agree with the preceding post: you MUST enable your customer to have an offline back test based on data, without a network connection for two reasons:
- performances
- mostly of us do something else (a job) during the day, so often there is the need to do something when disconnected or via command line or behind firewalls

If today (feb 2015) exists a different answer, pls provide it.

Author:  tcsabina [ Tue 03 Feb, 2015, 15:08 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

There was a promise to make JForex4's Historical Tester capable to run offline. You could test JForex4, or ask around in the JForex4 section.

Author:  Dimy [ Tue 09 Oct, 2018, 06:17 ]
Post subject:  Re: Full offline developing - is it possible?

Any updates on the issue?

I need this functionality as well!

  Page 1 of 1