Dukascopy
 
 
Wiki JStore Search Login

Attention! Read the forum rules carefully before posting a topic.

    Submit JForex API bug reports in this forum only.
    Submit Converter issues in Converter Issues.
    Off topics are strictly forbidden.

Any topics which do not satisfy these rules will be deleted.

getFeedData() returns null on remote
 Post subject: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Fri 28 Dec, 2018, 12:04 
User avatar

User rating: 0
Joined: Thu 21 Aug, 2014, 08:37
Posts: 17
Location: PolandPoland
Hello,

In my strategies, I use custom feeds to access historical data. As far as I remember, it was always working correctly, both on local and remote. Recently I noticed that something has changed on remote runs - looks like I can't access history anymore.

Here's a simplified example - I'm trying to access the last bar from a custom feed:

public void onStart(IContext context) throws JFException {
        this.console = context.getConsole();
        this.history = context.getHistory();
        this.context = context;
       
        Set<Instrument> instrumentSet = new HashSet<Instrument>();
        instrumentSet.add(Instrument.EURUSD);
        context.setSubscribedInstruments(instrumentSet, true);

        ITailoredFeedDescriptor<IBar> feed = new TimePeriodAggregationFeedDescriptor(Instrument.EURUSD, Period.ONE_HOUR, OfferSide.BID, Filter.WEEKENDS);
        IBar lastBar = history.getFeedData(feed, 1);
       
        console.getOut().println(lastBar != null ? lastBar.getClose() : "null");
    }

This code runs properly in local mode (printing a price value), but it displays "null" on remote.

I'd like to ask - is this a bug, or has something changed and this is not allowed on remote anymore?

Kind regards,
G.


 
 Post subject: Re: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Thu 03 Jan, 2019, 09:45 
User avatar

User rating:
Joined: Fri 31 Aug, 2007, 09:17
Posts: 6078
Hello,

We cannot reproduce this issue. Your code works correctly both local and remote. Do you still have this problem with remote run? Can you provide your strategy log from remote server?


 
 Post subject: Re: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Thu 03 Jan, 2019, 14:00 
User avatar

User rating: 0
Joined: Thu 21 Aug, 2014, 08:37
Posts: 17
Location: PolandPoland
Hello,

Yes, the issue still exists. I'm getting null on remote absolutely every time.

I tested it on two accounts - live in global mode, and newly created demo in normal (hedging) mode. The same behavior on both.

I recorded a video showing the issue:

https://youtu.be/44gxLX-F-Fk

Kind regards,
G.


 
 Post subject: Re: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Tue 08 Jan, 2019, 13:13 
User avatar

User rating: 0
Joined: Thu 21 Aug, 2014, 08:37
Posts: 17
Location: PolandPoland
Hello,

Today I tested this again on a different PC (just in case) and with another account. Exactly the same result - correct value on local, but null on remote (every time).

Image

Can I expect this to be fixed? Is there anything else I can provide to help?

Kind regards,
G.


Attachments:
null.png [5.98 KiB]
Downloaded 144 times
DISCLAIMER: Dukascopy Bank SA's waiver of responsability - Documents, data or information available on this webpage may be posted by third parties without Dukascopy Bank SA being obliged to make any control on their content. Anyone accessing this webpage and downloading or otherwise making use of any document, data or information found on this webpage shall do it on his/her own risks without any recourse against Dukascopy Bank SA in relation thereto or for any consequences arising to him/her or any third party from the use and/or reliance on any document, data or information found on this webpage.
 
 Post subject: Re: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Wed 09 Jan, 2019, 15:45 
User avatar

User rating: 0
Joined: Thu 21 Aug, 2014, 08:37
Posts: 17
Location: PolandPoland
Hello,

I'm trying to implement a workaround for this, but it looks like I don't have an access to historical data (on remote) at all.

Now I'm using IHistory.getBar() instead of the custom feed:

IBar lastBar = history.getBar(Instrument.EURUSD, Period.ONE_HOUR, OfferSide.BID, 1);
console.getOut().println(lastBar != null ? lastBar.getClose() : "null");

...and the result is exactly the same - correct price value on local, but null on remote.

Kind regards,
G.


 
 Post subject: Re: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Wed 09 Jan, 2019, 17:27 
User avatar

User rating:
Joined: Fri 31 Aug, 2007, 09:17
Posts: 6078
Hello,

We have established the cause of this bug. It will be fixed for about a week.


 
 Post subject: Re: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Wed 09 Jan, 2019, 18:23 
User avatar

User rating: 0
Joined: Thu 21 Aug, 2014, 08:37
Posts: 17
Location: PolandPoland
Amazing! Thank you.

Regards,
G.


 
 Post subject: Re: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Wed 27 Feb, 2019, 22:10 
User avatar

User rating: 0
Joined: Thu 21 Aug, 2014, 08:37
Posts: 17
Location: PolandPoland
Hello!

Is this bug going to be fixed? I've been unable to run any strategy on remote since December.

Best regards,
G.


 
 Post subject: Re: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Thu 28 Feb, 2019, 09:31 
User avatar

User rating:
Joined: Fri 31 Aug, 2007, 09:17
Posts: 6078
Hello,

Bug was fixed in january. Feed subscription on remote server works correctly, I tested it just now. Do you still have some problems with retrieving candle values?


 
 Post subject: Re: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Thu 28 Feb, 2019, 16:36 
User avatar

User rating: 0
Joined: Thu 21 Aug, 2014, 08:37
Posts: 17
Location: PolandPoland
Hello,

Yes, I still have the same problem. I check it every few days since reporting the issue.

I tested it right now on a fresh demo account (using the same code I posted above), and it worked correctly, both on local and remote.

However, when I'm running the same code on my real account, it still displays "null" on remote.

Best regards,
G.

Image


Attachments:
bug28022019.png [18.58 KiB]
Downloaded 109 times
DISCLAIMER: Dukascopy Bank SA's waiver of responsability - Documents, data or information available on this webpage may be posted by third parties without Dukascopy Bank SA being obliged to make any control on their content. Anyone accessing this webpage and downloading or otherwise making use of any document, data or information found on this webpage shall do it on his/her own risks without any recourse against Dukascopy Bank SA in relation thereto or for any consequences arising to him/her or any third party from the use and/or reliance on any document, data or information found on this webpage.
 
 Post subject: Re: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Wed 06 Mar, 2019, 18:08 
User avatar

User rating: 0
Joined: Thu 21 Aug, 2014, 08:37
Posts: 17
Location: PolandPoland
Hello,

Still the same today - null values on my live account.

Best regards,
G.

Image


Attachments:
bug0603.png [18.44 KiB]
Downloaded 98 times
DISCLAIMER: Dukascopy Bank SA's waiver of responsability - Documents, data or information available on this webpage may be posted by third parties without Dukascopy Bank SA being obliged to make any control on their content. Anyone accessing this webpage and downloading or otherwise making use of any document, data or information found on this webpage shall do it on his/her own risks without any recourse against Dukascopy Bank SA in relation thereto or for any consequences arising to him/her or any third party from the use and/or reliance on any document, data or information found on this webpage.
 
 Post subject: Re: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Thu 07 Mar, 2019, 16:45 
User avatar

User rating:
Joined: Fri 31 Aug, 2007, 09:17
Posts: 6078
Thanks for information. Live environment version will be updated in next few days.


 
 Post subject: Re: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Fri 08 Mar, 2019, 09:11 
User avatar

User rating:
Joined: Fri 31 Aug, 2007, 09:17
Posts: 6078
Live environment today has been updated. If problem continues to appear - let us know.


 
 Post subject: Re: getFeedData() returns null on remote Post rating: 0   New post Posted: Fri 08 Mar, 2019, 09:36 
User avatar

User rating: 0
Joined: Thu 21 Aug, 2014, 08:37
Posts: 17
Location: PolandPoland
Hello,

Looks like it's working correctly now - thank you!

Best regards,
G.


 

Jump to:  

cron
  © 1998-2011 Dukascopy® Bank SA
On-line Currency forex trading with Swiss Forex Broker - ECN Forex Brokerage,
Managed Forex Accounts, introducing forex brokers, Currency Forex Data Feed and News
Currency Forex Trading Platform provided on-line by Dukascopy.com