Dukascopy Support Board
http://www.dukascopy.com/swiss/english/forex/jforex/forum/

Candle Close above Level
http://www.dukascopy.com/swiss/english/forex/jforex/forum/viewtopic.php?f=146&t=57178
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Oli [ Wed 16 Oct, 2019, 16:20 ]
Post subject:  Candle Close above Level

Hi there,

I try to create a simple strategy based on a bullish fractal signal.

So far the strategy opens a buy position when the price crosses the high of the fractal (shift3).

But I need the strategy to open a buy position only when the first of the following candles closes above the shift3 level.

I searched the forum and tried many different variations but I can't figure out how to do it.

Does anybody know how that works?

Cheers :)

Oli

Attachments:
FractalBUY.vfs [60.13 KiB]
Downloaded 7 times

Author:  vadim_berezhnoj [ Mon 21 Oct, 2019, 16:53 ]
Post subject:  Re: Candle Close above Level

Hello.

The logic of the strategy is unclear. Drawing chart pictures might to describe it.

As I guess strategy will need to identify the fractal and save its level to the variable. then check every new candle close to cross it.

Kind regards, Support Team.

Author:  Oli [ Tue 22 Oct, 2019, 09:33 ]
Post subject:  Re: Candle Close above Level

Hello

Yes you guessed it right. That is exactly what I try to do.

Identify the fractal and save its level to the variable. then check every new candle close to cross it.

The first part works fine. I can identify the Fractal Level (in my case shift3 candle high). I could assign it to the variable.
But then I don't know what blocks or commands I need to use to trigger a trade on a new candle that closes above the level.

The close above the level would be the entry point.

Cheers.

Oli

Author:  vadim_berezhnoj [ Tue 22 Oct, 2019, 09:58 ]
Post subject:  Re: Candle Close above Level

Strategy should process it on next onCandle event.
Please use the manual to learn Visual JF

Author:  Oli [ Tue 22 Oct, 2019, 23:39 ]
Post subject:  Re: Candle Close above Level

Hello again

And how can I implement next OnCandle?

I have been trough the manual several times and I spent many many hours learning VJF.
As you can see in the attached file I am able to create a working strategy.
It even perfomes pretty good in the right market conditions.

But I cant solve the problem mentioned above. I need an explanation.

Can anybody please give me support?

Cheers.

Oli

Author:  vadim_berezhnoj [ Thu 24 Oct, 2019, 10:03 ]
Post subject:  Re: Candle Close above Level

Hello.

Please try the solution from file attached.

Kind regards, Support Team.

Attachments:
FractalBUY_v2.vfs [60.62 KiB]
Downloaded 5 times

Author:  Oli [ Fri 25 Oct, 2019, 09:17 ]
Post subject:  Re: Candle Close above Level

Hello

Thank you. Now I understand.
But the strategy now always opens a new position right away after a position has been closed. (Only in bullish direction)

Please have a look at the screenshot of the backtest. (EURUSD M30)
Can you please show me how to fix this.

Cheers

Have a nice weekend. :)

Oli
Image

Attachments:
FractalQuestion.png [93.47 KiB]
Downloaded 30 times

Author:  vadim_berezhnoj [ Fri 25 Oct, 2019, 11:58 ]
Post subject:  Re: Candle Close above Level

That happens becouse of SL and TP orders on the opened positions< you can delete that parameters from Market Open block.
Further you need to program conditions for position close.

Kind regards, Support Team.

Author:  Oli [ Sun 27 Oct, 2019, 16:59 ]
Post subject:  Re: Candle Close above Level

Hello again

I don't understand how to do that. Tried for several hours yesterday and today.

I am not a programmer and that is why I like Visual JForex. It gives us the opportunity to
set up a strategy without going into coding.

There must be a way to do it with the sl an tp in the Open Market block.

If you show me how to make this work I will not bother you anymore. ;)


Appreciate your support.

Cheers
Oli

Author:  vadim_berezhnoj [ Tue 29 Oct, 2019, 16:24 ]
Post subject:  Re: Candle Close above Level

Hello.

There is no need in programming skills in Visual JF, only trading logic.
You have to add conditions for positions closing.
By now positions are closed by SL or TP.
Try strategy in historical tester and follow strategy logic candle by candle.

Kind regards, Support Team.

  Page 1 of 1